Learn tips and best practices to help you manage your PeerBie MyWork channels.
If you’ve ever created a channel in PeerBie MyWork you’re officially a channel admin. Being a channel admin means you’re responsible for channel settings, security, and content monitoring in the channel you created. This guide will walk you through how to manage your PeerBie MyWork channels so you can work better together.
1. Channel details
You’ll have different privacy considerations depending on what kind of channel you’re an admin of. PeerBie MyWork has 4 different channel privacy settings:
- Open:anyone can see the channel, its members, and its posts.
- Closed: anyone can see the channel and who’s in it. Only members can see posts.
- Private:only members can find the channel, see who’s in it, and see posts.
- External: internal members are added internally and external members are added only through a special link
Announcement channels are typically kept open so people don’t miss important information. Team and project channels are typically closed or secret so only relevant people can see posts and contribute.
Make sure to assign the channel admin role to one or more channel members. This ensures that someone can moderate the channel while you’re away.
Make sure your channel is easy to search for by giving it an intuitive name that clearly explains what the channel is for. Examples include: “Marketing Team”, “Company Announcements”, “Help Center Feedback”, “Website Redesign Project”, “IT Q&A”.
Add a description that provides channel members with a clear understanding of what the channel should be used for and who should be a member.
Add a Cover Photo:
Cover photos can set the tone for the channel. Adding a photo of staff is great for team, announcement, and social channels.
2. Adding people
As a channel admin, you can control how new members are approved to join the channel in the channel Settings section of your Admin Options.
Open channels will be automatically set so anyone in your organization can join without needing to request access. You can change those settings to restrict membership approval to channel members only or to channel admins and moderators only. Closed and private channels will be automatically set so all members can approve or invite new users. You can adjust those settings so only admins and moderators can approve new people.
Save time by automatically approving member requests by people from your other channels. If you’re the admin of a project channel, pre-approve the team channel so all members can easily join.
Manage Member Requests:
If your channel is closed, you’ll receive a notification when someone requests to join your channel. Use these notifications to approve member requests. You can also access member requests from the channel members section.
You can turn off notifications for member requests but we don’t recommend this. Turning off these notifications means you might miss member requests, and people will have to wait longer to join the channel. If you do turn off these notifications, you’ll still be able to handle requests from the channel members page.
3. Archiving channels
Archive your channel when it is no longer relevant or no longer being used. Archiving channels ensures search isn’t cluttered so employees can easily find the active channels they’re looking for. All content on the channel page will still be accessible to channel members after the channel has been archived.
4. What else to do with channels?
Channel admin can also perform the following duties for the channel members.
- Manage a channel to-do list
- Manage products or customers
- Manage shared collections
More helpful resources
- Download the New User One Pager and share it with your team!
- Visit the PeerBie MyWork Academyto find interactive learning experiences like live training, product demos, self-paced courses and more.
- Visit the Help Centerfor troubleshooting support and answers to frequently asked questions.
- Check out the Ways to Work to discover new ways to use PeerBie MyWork to get your work done.